First Congregational Church in Natick
The church stands prominently in downtown Natick. This is the seventh meeting house of the Natick’s First Church, a congregation established in 1651 by John Eliot. Reverend Eliot was a Puritan missionary known as the “Apostle to the Indians”
Worship in those earliest years was conducted largely in the Algonquian language, and the meetinghouse stood at the center of both daily life and spiritual practice. This congregation represents one of the earliest Christian communities in Massachusetts and the first organized church in Natick with ties to the town’s indigenous origins.
The congregation’s origins lie in South Natick and for nearly 150 years, that area served as the heart of Natick’s religious life. In 1799, as the town’s population shifted eastward, the church relocated to what is now the geographic center of Natick.
Over time, earlier buildings were replaced to meet the needs of the growing and changing town. The current structure was completed in 1875 and reflects the late 19th century Victorian Gothic design.
As the seventh home of Natick’s First Church, it stands as an architectural landmark. It remains a defining presence in downtown Natick, embodying layers of history.

Read More From Nancy
Shaw Park
Shaw Park, located in South Natick, is not a grand park in the monumental sense. Yet, it is a space with a profound sense of intention as captured in the words that accompanied its gift to the town of Natick: “For the use of the Public Forever” These words were written by Isabella Hunnewell Shaw. […]
Glenwood Cemetery
Walking through the Glenwood Cemetery in Natick, there are many of these medallions and flags on the graves of veterans. All of these medallions are a bit different, but I had to look up what GAR stood for. It turns out GAR means the Grand Army of the Republic. This was a national fraternal organization […]
Casey’s Diner
Hometown stories would not be complete without sharing Casey’s Diner. Casey’s Diner is tucked along South Avenue in Natick and has been feeding generations for over a century and remains one of the town’s most enduring landmarks. The story of Casey’s begins in 1890, when Fred Casey purchased a horse-drawn lunch wagon and began serving […]